Board of Directors

Anne Zink
Anne Zink
Alaska Department of Health


Anne Zink, MD, FACEP was appointed Chief Medical Officer for the Alaska Department of Health & Social Services, Division of Public Health in August 2019. Dr. Zink has 13 years of experience in emergency medicine and joins DHSS from the Mat-Su Regional Medical Center, where she served as the Emergency Department medical director (2010-18) and also on the Board of Trustees (2012-18). In addition, she helped create the High-Utilizer Mat-Su (HUMS) (2017-18) program that aims to improve patient health and cost savings for some of the state's most vulnerable patients.

Dr. Zink is a practicing emergency room physician who is passionate about helping to shape and transform our current health care system. In all the work she does, she strives to create work environments, policies, and practices that are data-driven, foster collaboration and build system efficiencies that put patients first. Her priorities as CMO include building stronger partnerships between DHSS and Alaska's health care providers and providing support statewide in locally relevant ways to help establish healthier communities across Alaska.

Dr. Zink received her medical degree from Stanford University School of Medicine and completed her residency at the University of Utah.

Steven Stack
Steven Stack
Kentucky Department for Public Health

President Elect

Dr. Steven J. Stack, MD, MBA, FACEP was appointed Commissioner of the Kentucky Department for Public Health by Governor Andy Beshear in February 2020. He resides in Lexington, Ky and is a board-certified emergency physician. For more than 20 years, Dr. Stack has been a leader in the medical profession. He has served on boards of directors and in senior leadership roles for numerous geographic and specialty medical societies. In 2006, he was the first emergency physician ever elected to the American Medical Association (AMA) board of trustees, subsequently serving as board chair and in 2015- 2016 as the AMA’s youngest president since 1854. Dr. Stack has served as medical director of multiple emergency departments, including St. Joseph East (Lexington), St. Joseph Mt. Sterling (rural eastern Kentucky), and Baptist Memorial Hospital (Memphis, Tenn.). Dr. Stack is married and the proud father of one daughter. His wife, Tracie, is an MD, PhD and practicing board-certified allergy/asthma/ immunology specialist. In his leisure time, Dr. Stack enjoys the study of classical Greek and Roman history, United States presidential history, photography, and traveling with his wife and daughter.

Scott Harris
Scott Harris
Alabama Department of Public Health

Secretary Treasurer

Scott Harris, MD, MPH, was appointed Acting State Health Officer for the Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH) in September 2017 and formally designated as Alabama’s 12th State Health Officer in February 2018. A graduate of Harding University in Arkansas, Harris attended medical school at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Medicine and served an internal medicine internship and residency at Carraway Methodist Medical Center in Birmingham before returning to UAB to complete a fellowship in adult infectious diseases. He earned his MPH from the UAB School of Public Health.

In 1996, he began his practice in general infectious diseases and HIV medicine in Decatur, Alabama, and began serving as tuberculosis consultant with ADPH. In 2004, he helped to establish the Decatur-Morgan Community Free Clinic, serving thirteen years as the medical director, as well as a board member and board chair. The non-profit clinic offers health care and dental care at no charge to low income, medically uninsured residents, and relies heavily on community volunteers.

Full Bio here As a volunteer physician, Harris has served on many international medical missions to Central America, South America, and Africa. In addition to his board certification in internal medicine and infectious disease, he has additional certificates of qualification in tropical medicine from the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, and in travel medicine from the International Society of Travel Medicine.